Winter programme

Results and Tables






New Earswick knockout Finals Weekend. 

By Terry Shepherdson.

This weekend saw the entire New Earswick Indoor Bowls Club knockout finals take place.        On Saturday morning Barry Johnson & Ralph Tiplady beat Andrew Fothergill & Pat Walker 21 – 13 in the two wood pairs. In the Australian Pairs Kevin Liddell & Dave Clayden from being 17 – 4 up after ten of the twenty one ends final against against Dave Kermode & Brian Gray just hung on to win 20 - 19.   In evening three of the same four players met again in the men’s pairs Kevin Liddell & Dave Clayden coming out on top again 20 – 15 against Brian Gray & Bill Chittock. The other three finals were very close and entertaining games going right down to the last wood in every game, In the Ladies pairs Denise Elliot & Irene Warrington came from 8 - 12 behind to lead Pat Walker & Margaret Moss 16 – 12 after sixteen ends, the ladies went into the last end all square at 17 all and with Denise & Irene holding shot Margaret Moss with her last wood ditched the jack for two to win 19 – 17. 

In the Mixed Pairs Jenny & Paul Murray kept swapping the lead with Lynn Page & Colin Pickup and they also went into the last end all square at 17 all  with Lynn & Colin picking up a single to win 18 – 17. In the any Triples Final Gordon Fratson, Vic Thompson & Paul Dawson were all square 13 all after ten ends again Dave Imeson, Ralph Tiplady & Barry Johnson Barry’s rink had the better of the next four ends in the eighteen ends final and went into the last end two up 21 – 19 but Pauls trio picked up a five to win 24 – 21. All the trophies were presented to the winners by the Club President Gordon Fratson with the stadium manager Michele Gatenby presenting the Any Triples as Gordon was one of the winning team.

Sunday evening saw the finals of the five singles competitions. In the Handicap Singles       Tim Axe +3 started well against Ralph Tiplady -4 and stayed in lead 14 - 13 until Ralph scored three at the eighteenth to take the lead and go on to win 21 – 15.    In the Singles Plate Final Brian Gray led Ray Mawson 9 – 8 after thirteen ends, Mawson then won five of the next six ends to take a 14 – 10 lead but Gray won the next seven ends to win 21 – 14.  The Over 60’s Final saw Bill Waldie take a 10 – 2 lead against Dave Kermode, Kermode then fought back winning the next five ends to take a 13 – 10 lead but Waldie won the next six ends to take the title 21- 13.   In the Ladies Singles Final Lorna Tordoff took a 6 – 0 lead after three ends against Denise Elliott and in a good and entertaining match was always in the lead taking the title 23 – 11. In the Gents Singles Final Eric Cookson led Kevin Liddell 5 – 4 after six ends  but  Kevin won five of the next six ends to take a 17 – 7 lead go on to win 21 – 10 picking up his third title of the weekend. Gordon Fratson the New Earswick President presented the trophies to all the winners.







P1200246 JPG Ladies Singles Winner Lorna Tordoff with President Gordon Fratson

P1200269 JPG Gents Singles Winner Kevin Lidell with President Gordon Fratson.       













The top four teams from the third division New Earswick B, York B, Selby B & Honsea B met at Thanet Road for the annual Hebden Trophy Competition.  The competition is played on a round robin basis with each team fielding four rinks each playing for two points, and six points for the overall winners. In the first session York beat Selby three rinks to one and an overall score of 66 – 41 gave them 12pts to Selby’s 2pts.  New Earswick won all four rinks in their opening game against Hornsea the 77 – 33 result giving them all 14pts.  After a short drinks break New Earswick beat Selby 62 – 39 with three winning rinks giving them 12pts to Selby’s 2pts  In their second game York picked up maximum points with a 92 – 34 victory over Hornsea.  Play resumed after a buffet lunch with York & New Earswick the only two teams in with a chance of winning the competition locked together on 26pts York having the better shots difference +83 against Earswicks +67.  New Earswicks Paul Murray, Dave Toms, Bob Barrett & Dick Osguthorpe scored four at the first end and led Ray Clark, Alan Potter. Ken Robinson & Jim Robertson 9 – 4 after six ends, The York rink fought back to be only two shots down 9 - 11 after eleven ends but lost the last four ends to go down 9 – 19.   On the next rink Joe Barker, Brian Hutton, Kevin Potter & Vic Thompson scored three at the first end  against York’s Ken Simpson, John Butler, Wally Derbyshire & Tony Hopcutt only for York to get four back at the second end the teams matched each other with York leading 10 – 9 after ten ends but York won the last five ends including a six at the thirteenth end for a 23 – 9 victory.   Vic Reed, Allister Domville, Graham Bell & Gary Jones scored four at the third end to give Earswick a 7 – 2 lead after four ends against Gordon Fennel, Mal Rankeiller ,Alan Clapham, & Mal Bulmer the two teams matched each other for rest of the game with Earswick winning  14 – 8.  Martin Stubbs, Bruce Dobson, Dave. Hutchinson & Terry Bellwood led Charlie Arnett, Dave Walls, Eric Hodgson, & Geoff Walker 5 – 1 after five ends and in a low scoring very even game went on to win 10 – 8 giving New Earswick a 52 – 48 victory New Earswick  12pts     York 2pts The final result winners New Earswick 38pts +71 shots York second 28pts + 79shots.  The Hebded Cup & Division Three Champions Trophies & players mementoes were presented to Brian Birch the New Earswick captain by the Yorkshire Seniors Vice President Mr Gordon  Fratson.