Match Reports

Falcons V Hawks & Kent President Touring Side

Falcons V Hawks & Kent President Touring Side

Dave Sykes, Paul Murray, Dave Elcock & Tony Abbot scored four at the first end but  dropped a four at the seventh end to give New Earswick Falcons a slender  7 – 6 lead against  L. Watts’s Hornsea Hawks after seven ends. The Falcons then picked up thirteen shots at the next five ends to take a comfortable 20 – 8 lead but the Hawks replied with nine unanswered shots at the next three ends to be only three behind with six ends to play at which point the Falcons came flying back finishing the stronger for a 30 – 20 win. Dave Imeson, Bill Nuckey, Brian Birch & Barry Johnson won the first three ends to lead T. Newbon 7 – 0 and for the rest of the match they were always in front but could never increase their lead and finished seven shots in front  27 – 20. Rod Walker, Colin Ellis, Mick Head & Bill Waldie were always just behind M. Watson trailing 6 – 7 after nine ends the Hawks then picked up a four to take a 6 – 11 lead the Falcons   fought back strongly scoring ten shots at the next four ends to take the lead 16 – 12 for the first time in the match and with the teams sharing singles at the last seven ends go on to a 20 – 15 win.  Bob Elliot, Dave Kermode, Dick Osguthorpe & Ralph Tiplady restricted N. Gabriel to four singles in the first twelve ends to lead 12 – 4 the Hawks picked up a four on the run in but the Falcons replied with a five & a three for a 22 – 13 win.

New Earswick Falcons 99  14pts  Hornsea Hawks  68  0pts

Saturday saw the New Earswick Club play host to the Kent Presidents touring team in the morning New Earswick rinks won two of the six matches and Kent Four Barry Johnson rink beat D. Banford 16 -12 & Dick Osguthorpe rink beat P. Procter 21 – 18 while Bill Waldie lost to C. Marchant 17 – 18, Colin Pickup lost to C. Elson 12 - 18 Vic Thompson lost to E. Hughes 11 – 28  & Eric Cookson lost M. Scott 14 – 17, New Earswick 91 Kent 111. After a buffet lunch the Yorkshire Presidents team took on the Kent tourists this time with eight matches. Yorkshire winning four, Kent winning three and one being drawn the Selby rink beating        M. Scott 23 – 15 the Yorkshire Presidents rink skipped by Ralph Hodgkinson beat the kent President E. Hughes 24 - 14 Thornaby beat C. Marchant 24 – 17,  York beat P. Procter 20 – 14

New Earswick lost to C. Elson 15 – 19 Doncaster lost to M. Riley 13 – 22 & Leeds drew with    P. Peacock 19 all Yorkshire Presidents 159 Kent Presidents 148.