On Sat 21st April New Earswick & District IBC hosted the Special Olympics Yorkshire & Humberside Regional Indoor Bowls Singles competition . A total of 32 bowlers  from Pudsey, Wakefield, hosts York  and a 14 strong contingency from Northern region competed across 8 round robin Divisions. Play was continuous from 10am to 4 pm.

City of York’s Chris McPherson took silver in Division 3, Andrew Bayson won bronze in Division 4 with Will Sharman going unbeaten to win gold in Division 5. Ashley Shaw, Richard Scaife and Diana Ward were 4th in their respective Divisions 6, 7 and 8 whilst first time competitor Margaret Frost won an impressive silver in Division 8.

Medals and ribbons were presented by Sam Walton  of corporate supporters Acomb Travel & New Earswick IBC President Gordon Fratson. Thanks also go New Earswick club bowlers who provided the umpire, markers and rink side support throughout the competition.